The Green Living Guy

INDIANAPOLIS (July 17, 2013) – Renowned IndyCar team Andretti Autosport, led by racing legend Michael Andretti, has today become the third of 10 teams to sign up to the FIA Formula E Championship. For the world’s first fully-electric global racing series is beginning in 2014.


The launch, held at the team’s headquarters in Indianapolis, was attended by Alejandro Agag. For he is CEO of Championship promoters Formula E Holdings. In addition, was President, Chairman and CEO of Andretti Autosport Michael Andretti.

Andretti Autosport currently fields multiple entries in the IZOD IndyCar Series. I mean along with multiple campaigns in the Firestone Indy Lights. That’s the Pro Mazda Championship and in the USF2000 National Championship. It is one of the most well-known and decorated teams in US motorsport.  

So Many Championships

Also with four IZOD IndyCar Series championships (2004, 2005, 2007 and 2012). Furthermore, two Firestone Indy Lights titles (2008 and 2009) and one USF2000 championship (2010). Finally he has won the world-famous Indianapolis 500 twice (2005 and 2007). Michael himself boasts a racing career spanning more than 20 years competing in CART and Formula One. That’s with a remarkable 42 victories in CART. Can you say a runner-up on five occasions and second on the list of the most IndyCar laps led. All just behind his father Mario.

Andretti Autosport

Andretti Autosport becomes the third team to join the new zero emission series which will see Formula cars racing on 10 city-centre circuits all around the world. They join UK-based Drayson Racing, who recently set the world electric land speed record, together with China Racing, headed up by the highly-regarded Steven Lu.

Alejandro Agag added: “We are absolutely delighted to welcome Andretti Autosport to the series; a team with an incredible racing pedigree and track record who I have no doubt is going to make a big contribution to the FIA Formula E Championship. It’s fantastic too for such a highly-established outfit to show its commitment to sustainable motoring and with two US races on the inaugural calendar – Los Angeles and Miami – I’m sure American motorsport fans will have a lot to cheer come race day.

Inaugural Season

For the inaugural season, teams including Andretti Autosport will use the new Spark-Renault SRT_01E Formula E car. It’s built by French-based company Spark Racing Technology.

That’s also together with a consortium of the leading manufacturers in motorsport including:

  1. McLaren
  2. Williams
  3. Renault and Dallara
  4. Michelin being the Championship’s Official Tyre Supplier
  5. TAG Heuer the Official Time Keeper.

Patrice Ratti, CEO of Renault Sport Technologies who are overseeing the systems integration of the Spark-Renault SRT_01E, added: “As technical partner to Formula E and as a brand committed to motorsport for over 100 years, it is a great honour for Renault to welcome Andretti Autosport onboard. Andretti Autosport is one of the largest and most respected motorsport organizations in the world and we are delighted of their decision to join us in the new Zero-Emission professional racing series pioneered by FEH. Such great professional teams as Andretti Autosport will further inspire our engineers to develop an amazing race car and create a great show for motorsport fans around the world. With three professional teams now confirmed and more interested, we should soon have a complete grid for any other series to envy.”

Sources: FIA Formula E Championship, Andretti Autosport and FIA & Michelin: Today’s partners for tomorrow’s mobility

Andretti race autosport

%d bloggers like this: