FORT WORTH, Texas (July 24, 2018) – First off, the Botanical Research Institute of Texas (BRIT) is proud to announce that Dr. Sylvia Earle will be receiving an award.  BRIT’s 2018 International Award of Excellence in Conservation.  Hence, Dr. Earle won this year because of her lifetime of work.  She has dedicated her life to marine biology and ocean conservation.

Dr. Earle

Dr. Earle will be the first ocean conservationist to receive BRIT’s conservation award.  Most noteworthy is that’s in a 23-year history. Finally, the award presentation at BRIT’s annual ceremony on October 25, 2018. In addition, it’s at the Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel in Fort Worth, Texas.

Dr. Sylvia Earle is a historic American oceanographer and explorer.  She is known for her research on marine algae and her mantra is “no blue, no green.” She has spent her lifetime protecting and conserving the world’s oceans.
Dr. Sylvia Earle

Earning undergraduate and post-graduate degrees in botany.  Dr. Earle’s belief is that understanding vegetation was the first step in understanding any ecosystem. Her 1966 Duke University dissertation called “Phaeophyta of Eastern Gulf of Mexico”.  It shed new light on the region’s aquatic plant life.  Now when you combine with her other Gulf research.  As they say, the body of work stands today as the definitive study.  The study of the region’s abundant and rich aquatic plant life.

Most importantly, Dr. Earle has led more than 100 expeditions and logged more than 7,000 hours underwater.

In 1970, she led the first team of women aquanauts .  As well, she led them on the government’s historic Tektite II deep-sea research project.  Cause that groundbreaking work shows the effects of coral reef pollution and acidity. She has participated in ten saturation dives.  And also set the women’s solo diving record in 1,000 meters depth. Thereby, the New Yorker and the New York Times have called her “Her Deepness”. Furthermore and most noteworthy, the Library of Congress named her a “Living Legend.” She was most noteworthy, the first recipient of Time Magazine’s “Hero for the Planet”. As well, and more importantly, the 2009 TED Prize winner.

As well, Dr. Earle’s recent research focus is on developing a global network of marine protected areas.  These are called “Hope Spots”.  These are to safeguard living systems that therefore give the underpinnings of global processes. Today, she is Explorer-in-Residence at the National Geographic Society.  Furthermore, and most noteworthy she is a prolific author and lecturer.

In conclusion, this award created in 1995. Hence, the International Award of Excellence in Conservation presented to honor people and organizations that show the ideals expressed in BRIT’s mission. Honorees include: scientists, conservationists, heads of state, philanthropists, Pulitzer Prize winners, politicians and other notables. Also, BRIT’s annual award event has played an important role in raising public awareness of its mission.  In addition, and more importantly, it has brought an increased understanding of the importance of conservation issues and environmental awareness. Hence, through educating supporters, BRIT has added to the global efforts.  That’s efforts to save the diminishing resources of the planet.

Finally, the award at BRIT’s annual event on October 25, 2018. It’s held at the Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel. That’s in Fort Worth, Texas. Tickets at:

Source: Botanical Research Institute of Texas

This site is protected by

%d bloggers like this: