D’Ambrosio wins as Piquet takes championship lead

BERLIN, GERMANY (May 23 2015): Race winner Lucas di Grassi has been excluded from the DHL Berlin ePrix after his Audi Sport ABT car was found to have been running with a modified front wing.

The race-winning car failed post-race scrutineering where it was discovered that the front wing fairings had been modified to include internal metal reinforcing rods. In addition the stewards found that six of the eight holes in the front wing had been sealed. The remaining two holes were found to have had helicoil inserts and chamfers made and that the front flap and gurney LH 220 has a filler layer added and chamfer made.


The team argued that these changes were made as a result of repairs and that they offered no competitive advantage, however, they were deemed to be in breach of Article 3.1 of 2014/2015 FIA Formula E Technical Regulations and the exclusion was made.

Audi Sport ABT has decided not to appeal the decision.

The decision means that Jerome D’Ambrosio is now the winner of the race and Nelson Piquet Jr is now in the lead of the championship, 10 points ahead of di Grassi.

FIA Formula E Championship – DHL Berlin ePrix (Rd 8) – Race results:

  1. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing, 48:26.566
  2. Sébastien Buemi, e.dams-Renault, +2.433s
  3. Loïc Duval, Dragon Racing, +3.508s
  4. Nelson Piquet Jr, NEXTEV TCR, +3.975s
  5. Nick Heidfeld, Venturi, +13.046s
  6. Stéphane Sarrazin, Venturi, +13.335s
  7. Jean-Eric Vergne, Andretti, +13.678s
  8. Sam Bird, Virgin Racing, +14.055s
  9. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Trulli, +15.636s
  10. Nicolas Prost, e.dams-Renault, +16.602s

  11. Antonio Felix da Costa, Amlin Aguri, +16.797s

  12. Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing, +20.594s

  13. Scott Speed, Andretti, +21.149s

  14. Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT, +23.668s

  15. Charles Pic, NEXTEV TCR, +25.491s

  16. Salvador Duran, Amlin Aguri, +44.137s

  17. Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing, +46.257s

  18. Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing, +52.703s

  19. Jarno Trulli, Trulli, +2 laps

EXC Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT

Driver Standings

Nelson Piquet Jr – 103

Sébastien Buemi – 101

Lucas di Grassi – 93

Nicolas Prost – 78

Jerome D’Ambrosio – 77

Sam Bird – 68

Antonio Felix da Costa – 45

Jean-Eric Vergne – 40

Jaime Alguersuari – 30

Bruno Senna – 28

Team Standings

e.dams-Renault – 179

Dragon Racing – 116

Audi Sport ABT – 115


Virgin Racing – 98

Andretti – 88

Amlin Aguri – 48

Mahindra Racing – 46

Venturi – 34

Trulli – 17

Source: Formula E